

Executive Council Vice Presidents Delisa Brown Charles Cerf Michael Conigliaro Dale Danker Sean Doyle Garry Drummond Jerome Lafragola Tom Lenane Carl Martin Thom McDaniel Curtis Tate Tony Utano James Whalen

Council Members

Joe Carbon John Chiarello Brian Clarke LaTonya Crisp-Sauray John Feltz Horace Marves Gary Shults Kevin Smith Audrey Stone

Executive Board Matthew Ahern **Bedennia Barnes Richard Boehm** Jon Bradford Willie Brown Ralph Darnell **Richard Davis Derick Echevarria** Fred Fink Todd Gage Angel Giboyeaux Amy Griffin Jim Guido Debra Hagan **Kevin Harrington** Maurice Jenkins Don May Mike Mayes John Menshon Benyoel Morgan Thomas Murray J.P. Patafio **Daniel Rivera Richard Rocco** Dane Stricoff **Robert Taylor** Luis Ventura David Virella **Clarence Washington Eric Williams**

Transport Workers Union of America, AFL-CIO

Harry Lombardo International President John Samuelsen International Executive Vice President Alex Garcia International Secretary-Treasurer

John Bland Administrative Vice President Gary E. Maslanka Administrative Vice President

Support the Surface Transportation Reauthorization and Reform Act of 2015

Dear Representative:

On behalf of the Transport Workers Union (TWU), I urge you to support the Surface Transportation Reauthorization and Reform Act of 2015 (H.R. 3763). While this is not a perfect bill, it is a fair, bipartisan compromise that will improve our nation's transit systems, roads and bridges, and in the process create and sustain good-paying jobs in the transportation sector. I want to thank Chairman Shuster, Ranking Member DeFazio, Subcommittee Chair Graves and Subcommittee Ranking Member Norton for drafting this important legislation and we look forward to working with them and other members of the Committee to move this bill forward.

There is little debate that our nation's surface transportation system, including our mass transit network, is in dire need of increased investment and support from the federal government. Passenger demand for transit and mobility options in general has never been greater, and systems across the country are desperately seeking funds to expand services and meet ongoing operational needs. The funding stability provided in this bill will begin to allow transit systems to plan and implement improvements that have been shelved for too long. While the overall funding levels in H.R. 3763 are below the immediate and long-term needs of surface transportation system, and considerably more funding is necessary, the bill does allow for automatic increases in funding if more money flows into the Highway Trust Fund.

We are also pleased that the bill makes a number of improvements to promote safety. The legislation directs the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) to address rail and bus operator assault through a rulemaking, including the practices that bus drivers have found most effective. Separately, the bill directs the FTA to conduct a comprehensive evaluation of public transportation safety standards that will examine important issues for workers, including bus blind spots, fatigue management, and ensuring adequate time for restroom breaks. Finally, the bill creates a competitive grant program to train bus operators and mechanics to improve both the current and future transit workforce. TWU is encouraged by Congress taking a stand on the issue of driver safety.

This bill also includes a House-Senate compromise extending the deadline for freight and passenger railroads to implement Positive Train Control. Without this extension, many rail carriers have announced plans to shut down or curtail service – a result that would threaten jobs and undermine an important driver of our economy. Finally, the bill improves Buy America rules that will ensure that federal transportation investments will support job creation throughout the transit industry, including our manufacturing sector. We urge you to vote yes on this legislation which brings stability to the transportation sector and takes steps to protect transportation workers.

Sincerely,

forlando Å

Harry Lombardo President Transport Workers Union